The Heart Chakra

1.36 vishoka va jyotishmati

Or (va) focusing on the inner-light (jyotishmati), exempts one from all grief (vishoka).

The inner light is associated with the Heart Chakra(Anahata). Psychological function of Anahata is Love, and its challenge is grief. Stimulation of Anahata through focus will help recognize that we are part of something larger, that we are interconnected within an intricate web of relationships extending through many universe's.

A lot has been said about the importance of the heart. Ancient scriptures tell us that heart is where the Soul resides after being clothed in this body. When a person leaves his physical shell, the energies that had been powering the functioning of the central nervous system, gathers within the heart upon the instruction of the Soul. From here, the Soul gathers them and departs through one of the nine gates. Two additional ones are the Brahmarandhra - hole at Crown Chakra through which life enters the body, and the Navel.

An experienced meditator can consciously direct the Soul up to the Crown Chakra, even after the breathing has stopped. Leaving through the Crown Chakra, the adept attains liberation. Their soul does not reincarnate again. They can choose to reincarnate, but they are not subject to the influences of Maya or nature after liberation.

The Birth of Forgiveness

Anahata in Sanskrit means "unstruck," "unhurt" or "unbeaten" and is the bridge between our physical self and spiritual self. Emanating outward from the middle of the chest area, this energy center emanates with love, joy and compassion, but it also allows us to feel envy, lust, sorrow, and destructive anger in which the heart feels that it will get relief only after the source of pain has been obliterated.

It is in the understanding why our heart weeps with vengence, and the overcoming of sadistic feelings through meditation, does one cultivate the capacity to forgive.

When Anahata is open and energy is flowing freely, you not only love others, you are also loving to your self. You know when you need to say no, and when you need care and self-nurturing. 2

To meditate on the destructive forces of overwhelming anger , put your attention between your two breast plates and visualize a ball of pulsating soft light the size of your fist. Visualize love, compassion, and joy move in and out of this ball and embrace all negative emotions.

As love enters, the light pulses bright, as it leaves, the light softens, and waits for compassion... as compassion enters it pulses bigger, as joy enters, bigger. With each round, the inner light grows eradicating every shred of anger and violence that envelops you until it permeates your entire being.

At this point, you see mostly the light with a soft outline of your body. Once you have become the light, begin asking when, where, and how those violent emotions became a part of your being. Keep doing this until the light of love permeates the entire universe.

Patience is important because the maturity period for synchronization with the heart chakra is anywhere from 3 to 5 years of regular practice, depending on your past life experience.

Measuring Your Progress

When some part of us is broken and hurting, we supress the hurt through some form of addiction. As you begin to heal, you will find that your need to depend on a substance, or an negative activity such as gossiping about others, or the need to self-harm, gradually decrease.

In time, it will dissapear completely. There may be the occasional instance when an emotion may be triggered which forces you back to lean on your crutch, but these moments will be few and far in between. Soon you will find yourself completely healed. This is when you know that you have graduated from the heart chakra.

Note: It is not necessary that you need to graduate from lower chakras to higher ones. Some people may have a fully intergrated first, second, and third chakras while their lower chakras may not be stable. These people will be highly advanced in matters of spirituality but if you try to intergrate them into society doing day-to-day activity, they may not fare well. It is important that one recognizes this in their spiritual journey.
  • 1.36 vishoka va jyotishmati
  • vishoka - state free from pain, grief, sorrow, or suffering

  • jyotishmati - the bright effulgence, lucidity, luminosity, inner light, supreme or divine light

  • va - or (or other practices in 1.34-1.39)